Worku Kebede

Worku Kebede

Name: Worku Kebede       
Age: 14
School: Bole Addis primary  School
Grade: 5th

Worku  was close friends with Zemete and Yared and was living at home when Hold My Hand discovered his situation.

His father is blind and his mother is too old to work, so Worku’s family could not provide for him to go to school, clothing, eating, and everything else it takes to parent a child. Hold My Hand found Worku with Zemete and Yared and began asking about his situation in (roughly) the beginning of 2013.

Hold My Hand starting talking with Worku’s mother and she told us that she could not provide for Worku, so it would be hard for him to be brought up properly.

He has a brother who is 17, who was helping Worku’s father because he did not want to go to school. Worku’s mother told Hold My Hand about this to enable him to have a better life with education and other necessities. She would love for Worku to live with her, but she, and Worku’s family cannot give him what he needed, so she asked Hold My Hand to take him and to do so. Hold My Hand did not take Worku to the house in Megenagna right away.

Instead, he joined the boys about a year and a half ago (roughly the beginning of 2014) when Hold My Hand moved to a house in Yeka. Worku’s family moved out of Addis in May of 2015 to Gojam. They lived in Gojam before renting their house in Addis. When the family still lived in Addis, Worku could visit them. Now that they are back in Gojam, he cannot see them as often. If Worku’s family can provide for him someday, Hold My Hand will try best to reunify him with them.

Hold My Hand is keeping in contact with his mother and family to check on the situation and how they are doing financially. Currently they are not able to provide for Worku again, Hold My Hand is and will continue to provide for him and send him to school, while giving him a good place to live. But once his family`s status is good he will be reunified.

Get to Know Worku

  • What is your favorite subject in school and why?

English because he can learn it easily. He says he can catch the words easily.

  • What do you wish to be when you are grown?

Scientist who works in space. He would like to work for NASA someday.

  • What is your favorite thing to do in your free time?

Playing soccer, watching movies, and studying.

  • What is your favorite food?

Doro (Chicken)

  • Who is your role model? Who do you wish to be like and why?

King David because he has a good heart for God, and he was close to God.

  • Favorite thing to watch on TV?

Soccer

  • If you could be any animal what would it be and why?

Lion because he is powerful plus every animal is afraid of him.

  • What is your favorite color?

White

  • What is your favorite song?

Kefa Midkisa- Ante Enderedahegn

  • If you had all the power in the world to do whatever you wanted for 12 hours what would you do?

“I would share the word of God to everyone and kill the Devil.”

  • If you could give advice to other street children your age, what would you say to them?

“Your faith must be endless, and you must believe in God forever.”

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.